Uploaded Ad
UMKC Hosts Annual Champions Banquet to Honor Student-Athletes
UMKC Athletics 5-5-2017
Share |
Related Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – UMKC Athletics hosted its annual year-end Champions Banquet on Thursday night to recognize student-athletes who excelled athletically, academically and in the community during the 2016-17 school year.

“The Champions Banquet is one of the major highlights of the year,” commented UMKC Director of Athletics Carla Wilson. “It is wonderful to recognize the talents of our student-athletes and engage with our program's donors. We thank our student-athletes for their hard work in all facets of their lives.”

A total of 52 student-athletes will have received their degree from UMKC by the completion of the fall 2017 semester, including a team-high 11 graduates from the men's track and field and cross country teams.

The evening was closed with the presentation of endowments, scholarships, honors and awards to over 40 student-athletes.

“The Champions Banquet was a special evening,” shared Ursula Gurney, UMKC's Senior Associate Athletics Director for Internal Operations/Senior Woman Administrator. “It is an honor to recognize our student-athletes and their accomplishments in the classroom, community and competition. We have an outstanding group of student-athletes who represent UMKC in a first-class manner on a daily basis.”

Endowments and Scholarships:

  • AMC Theatres Scholarship – Lynsey Conner (softball)
  • Ralph B. & Rolaine J. Anderson Athletics Scholarship I – Ryann Burnett (women's soccer) and Traci Mills (women's track and field)
  • Ralph B. & Rolaine J. Anderson Athletics Scholarship II – Daijane Dillard (women's basketball) and Kiana Law (women's basketball)
  • UMKC Athletics Foundation Intercollegiate Athletics Scholarship – Daylan Quinn (men's track and field/cross country), Marcus Johnson (men's track and field/cross country) and Chantel Bethune (women's track and field)
  • Guy H. Bailey II Memorial Scholarship – Alex Larson (softball)
  • Dutton Brookfield Scholarship Fund – Broderick Robinson (men's basketball) and Kelsey Mothershead (women's soccer)
  • Stanley H. Durwood Athletics Scholarship – Rachel Culberson (women's track and field), Richard Smith (men's track and field) and Victor Olorunfemi (men's soccer)
  • Cynthia Joy Gabel Memorial Endowment Fund – Carly Janike (women's soccer)
  • Judge Jack & Beverly Gant Athletics Scholarship – Uldis Gaismins (men's tennis) and Emily Herndon (women's soccer)
  • Charles & Kay Hanson Athletics Scholarship – Cyrielle Kern (women's golf)
  • Jim & Sally Job Scholarship Fund – Xavier Bishop (men's basketball) and Kristen Moore (women's basketball)
  • Bill Ross Scholarship for UMKC Intercollegiate Athletics – Thibault Vieilledent (men's golf)
  • Kenneth L. & Eva S. Smith Foundation Fund – Hubert Tisserand (men's golf)
  •  Keith & Sammy Schreiman Athletics Endowment I – Eddie Howe (men's soccer) and Aries Washington (women's basketball)
  • Keith & Sammy Schreiman Athletics Endowment II – Duane Clark (men's basketball) and Broderick Washington (men's basketball)
  • Chip Bloch Scholarship in Memorial to Wheadon “Chip” Bloch – Jordan Giles (men's basketball) and Isaiah Ross (men's basketball)
  • George W. Mansfield UMKC Junior Golf Ambassadors Scholarship Endowment – Chandler Gallagher (women's golf)
  • Samuel M. Davidson Memorial Athletics Scholarship – Lexie Howard (women's soccer) and Jason Fambrough (men's track and field/cross country)

Honors and Awards

  • Stan Durwood Award – Daiwa Emmert (women's track and field) and Quinlan Moll (men's track and field/cross country)
  • Lee Hunt Award – Samantha Waldron (women's basketball) and LaVell Boyd (men's basketball)
  • Lester Milgram Award – Justice Collins (women's basketball)
  • David B. Milgram Award – Emma Hagedorn (volleyball)
  • Henry A. Mitchell/People to People Award – Justice Collins (women's basketball) and Thibault Vieilledent (men's golf)
  • Rookie of the Year Award – Francois Lagraulet (men's golf) and Cynthia Diaz (women's golf)
  • Circle of Champion's Award – Bryce Miller (men's track and field/cross country) and Emma Hagedorn (volleyball)
  • Above and Beyond Award – Bryce Miller (men's track and field/cross country)

For more information on UMKC Athletics, visit or like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

– UMKC –

Roos Qualify for Four Events at NCAA West Regionals
Men's Soccer and Women's Tennis Earn NCAA Public Recognition Award
Roos Close-out Season with 11th Place Result at NCAA Regional