Four Men, Three Women Named All-Summit League, Hale Coach of the Year
UMKC Athletics 4-25-2013
Share |
Related Links

(Fort Wayne, Ind.) – The Kansas City men’s and women’s tennis teams were honored on Thursday night at the Pre-Championship Banquet as four men and three women were named to the All-Summit League Team. Head Coach Kendell Hale was also named women’s Coach of the Year.

IUPUI’s Jason Jaruvang earned Men’s Player of the Year honors and Fort Wayne’s Anita Henestrosa was named Women’s Player of the Year.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Jaruvang and South Dakota State’s Ffion Davies. South Dakota State’s men’s coach Michael Engdahl and Kansas City’s Hale earned Coach of the Year accolades.

Hale led Kansas City’s women to a 6-1 Summit League record and second-place finish, the highest in school history. The award marks the first women’s Coach of the Year honor for Hale, who won the men’s accolade in 2011.

The four-time regular season men’s champion, Kansas City, led the way with four selections on the all-league team. Nino Hasandedic (3-1 at No. 1 singles), Abdul Alawadhi (combined 5-0 at No. 2-4 singles), Grant Fleming (combined 5-0 at No. 2-3 singles) and Tomas Patino (3-0 at No. 4 singles) represent the Kangaroos. Runner-up South Dakota State placed a trio of players on the all-league squad in Andrea Boglić (2-2 at No. 1 singles), Parker Lawley (combined 4-0 at No. 2-3 singles) and Henrique Pereira (3-1 at No. 4 singles). Jaruvang’s IUPUI teammate Armaan Choudhary (3-1 at No. 5 singles), Fort Wayne’s duo of Gerard Guell (3-0 at No. 6 singles) and Daniel Kang (2-3 at No. 1 singles), and Western Illinois’ Bradley Holt (4-1 at No. 3 singles) rounded out the men’s honorees.

Women’s regular season champion Fort Wayne paced the all-league team with five honorees, led by Henestrosa. Also representing the Mastodons are Caterina Kiefer (combined 5-0 at No. 2-3 singles), Kristine Lindal (2-1 at No. 2 singles), Theresa Neumeyr (combined 4-0 at No. 5-6 singles) and Miloslava Shustova (combined 5-1 at No. 3-4 singles). Regular season runner-up Kansas City had three selections in Laura Bouet (6-1 at No.1 singles), Eva Dalvai (combined 4-1 at No. 2-3 singles) and Dimitra Stavrianakou (combined 5-1 at No. 2-3 singles). South Dakota State’s duo of Davies and Florencia Magni (4-2 at No.1 singles), South Dakota’s Yamini Reddy (3-0 at No. 6 singles) and IUPUI’s Bobbi Modesto (3-0 at No. 3 singles) comprised the remainder of the squad.

The 2013 Summit League Championships are hosted by IPFW and will be played April 26-27 at the Dr. Rudy & Rhonda Kachmann Tennis Center in Fort Wayne.

Men’s All-Summit Team

Abdul Alawadhi, Kansas City
Andrea Boglić, South Dakota State
Armaan Choudhary, IUPUI
Grant Fleming, Kansas City
Gerard Guell, Fort Wayne
Nino Hasandedic, Kansas City
Bradley Holt, Western Illinois
Jason Jaruvang, IUPUI
Daniel Kang, Fort Wayne
Parker Lawley, South Dakota State
Tomas Patino, Kansas City
Henrique Pereira, South Dakota State

Men’s Player of the Year:
Jason Jaruvang, IUPUI

Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Jason Jaruvang, IUPUI
Men’s Coach of the Year: Michael Engdahl, South Dakota State


Women’s All-Summit Team

Laura Bouet, Kansas City
Eva Dalvai, Kansas City

Ffion Davies, South Dakota State
Caterina Kiefer, Fort Wayne
Anita Henestrosa, Fort Wayne
Kristine Lindal, Fort Wayne
Florencia Magni, South Dakota State
Bobbi Modesto, IUPUI
Theresa Neumeyr, Fort Wayne
Yamini Reddy, South Dakota
Miloslava Shustova, Fort Wayne
Dimitra Stavrianakou, Kansas City

Women’s Player of the Year: Anita Henestrosa, Fort Wayne

Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Ffion Davies, South Dakota State
Women’s Coach of the Year: Kendell Hale, Kansas City

Roos Close-out Season With 5th Place Finish at WAC Championship
Roo Track and Field Heads To Three Meets in Weekend Action
Roos Offense Stays Hot in Doubleheader With Creighton