Fleming Garners Player of the Year Accolades as a Quartet of 'Roos are Honored
UMKC Athletics 4-26-2012
Share |
Related Links
(Kansas City, Mo.) - UMKC junior Grant Fleming was named the 2012 Summit League Men's Tennis Player of the Year, while sophomore Tomas Patino was named the league's Newcomer of the Year it was announced tonight at the 2012 Summit League Tennis Championships Banquet. 

Fleming and Patino, meanwhile, were joined on the All-Summit League Team by teammates Gustavo Guerin and Abdulrahman Alawadhi, after each helped the 'Roos to their third consecutive regular season Summit League title this season.

Fleming garners the 'Roos fifth Summit League Player of the Year award in school history and third straight, joining Angelo Vasilescu (1999), Divan Coetzee (2000), Patrick Smith (2010) and Nino Hasandedic (2011), after posting a perfect 5-0 mark from the No. 1 singles line in Summit League play and moving into the top spot on the UMKC career singles winning percentage list (.697).  The all-league selection is the second straight for the Overland Park, Kan., native after being named to the team in 2011, his first season as a 'Roo.

Patino becomes the fifth Kangaroo to be named Summit League Newcomer of the Year, joining Vasilescu (1999), Coetzee (2000), Bret Berryman (2009) and Hasandedic (2011), after finishing 5-0 in league play at the No. 2 singles position and 4-0 from No. 3 doubles line this season. 

Guerin and Alawadhi, meanwhile, become the 47th and 48th 'Roos to be named to the All-Summit League Team, as each posted four Summit League wins in singles competition, while teaming for a perfect 4-0 league mark at the No. 2 doubles line.  The honor is the third consecutive for Guerin, the lone UMKC senior, while Alwadhi claims his first all-league selection in his third year as a Kangaroo.

The Blue & Gold will be back in action again on tomorrow at 2 p.m. when they host South Dakota State in the first round of the 2012 Summit League Championships at the Plaza Tennis Center.

2012 Men's All-Summit League Team

Abdulrahman Alawadhi, UMKC

Roberto Cabrini, IPFW

Grant Fleming, UMKC

Joao Freitas, IPFW

Gustavo Guerin, UMKC

Patrick Hammers, Western Illinois

Joel Modesitt, IUPUI

Ivan Mojsejev, IUPUI

Martin Maudi, IPFW

Tomas Patino, UMKC

Deon Shafer, IUPUI

James Thorp, South Dakota State

Roos Fall Short in Sweep Attempt of CSU Bakersfield
Strong Play Guides UMKC to a Pair of Wins Over CSU Bakersfield
UMKC Takes Down Saint Louis in Final Road Match