O’Connor Named DI-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete For Second Straight Season
UMKC Athletics 3-31-2014
Share |
Related Links
(Kansas City, Mo.) – Kansas City women’s basketball senior Eilise O'Connor was named to the 12th Annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete Team, as well as being honored as the recipient of the Postgraduate Scholarship.

This season, the San Francisco, Calif., native moved into second place on the UMKC career scoring and assists list, while breaking the Kansas City and WAC records for free throws in a game, season and career, as well as leading the WAC in scoring.

Off the court, O’Connor holds a 3.99 GPA as a Health Sciences (Pre-Dentistry) major and Chemistry minor and was named First Team Academic All-American, a semi-finalist for the Senior C.L.A.S.S. Award and the WBCA Allstate Good Works Team. Last season, she was named Summit League Academic All-League, while three-times being selected as a member of the Summit League Academic Honor Roll and twice as a member of the Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence.

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached junior academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible). To be eligible for the Postgraduate Scholarship, he/she must have completed eight semesters or the equivalent number of quarters at their institution. Preference was given to those on track to graduate in spring/summer 2014.

Each Postgraduate Scholarship recipient will receive $5,000 towards postgraduate studies and will be given their awards during the Association’s annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 9-12.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim Hall; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph’s; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Hogan, Seattle; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; and Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul.

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 13th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit

2014 Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Teams

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team





Alexis Dobbs

American University


Public Health/Minor Biology

Jen Dumiak

American University


Mathematics & Economics

Sarah Hansen

Florida Gulf Coast University


Chemistry/Minor Mathematics

Amanda Hyde

Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne


Mathematics/Minor Psychology

Katie Fox

St. Francis College Brooklyn


English & History

Dequesha McClanahan

Winthrop University


Exericise Science

Eilise O'Connor

University of Missouri Kansas City



Haley Seilbert

Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne


Communication Science & Disorders

Erin Shields

Saint Joseph's University


Finance & Accounting

Kacie Sowell

Seattle University


Sports & Exercise Science

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Amanda Hyde, IPFW
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Eilise O'Connor, UMKC

UMKC Volleyball Locks In 2018 Schedule
UMKC Women's Hoops Adds Patrick Harrison to Coaching Staff
Goodwin, Bloom Selected in ASBA Draft