‘Roos Take Third Straight League Tournament Crown, 4-0
UMKC Athletics 4-27-2013
Share |
Related Links

(Fort Wayne, Ind.) – Kansas City men’s tennis made it a Championship three-peat on Saturday in Fort Wayne, Indiana, sweeping its way to another Summit League title over IUPUI, 4-0. UMKC earned the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament for the third straight year as well.

The ‘Roos (13-10), seeded No. 1 after their fourth consecutive regular season crown, dominated doubles play. They got wins at No. 1 and No. 2 by 8-4 margins to claim the 1-0 lead going into singles action. IUPUI (5-19) won the doubles point in the regular season meeting, but UMKC won that contest 4-3.

The ‘Roos were a different team on Saturday though, even without the injured Tomas Patino. They were focused from the start, and took that momentum into singles play, winning the first set in all six contests. No. 6 player Conner Edwards was the first to finish, making it 2-0 after a straight set win. Andrey Smirnov was next at No. 4, taking another sweep.

That set the stage for senior Grant Fleming at the No. 3 position. He finished off a 6-1, 6-1 victory, breaking IUPUI for the dual win as the rest of the ‘Roos came running in from all the other courts for the traditional celebration.

“It came down to guys like Conner Edwards, Andrey Smirnov and our number two doubles, and I couldn’t be more proud of those guys.” Head Coach Kendell Hale said.

Fleming also registered his 19th win of the season, breaking the school record for wins in a year, held by Serge Ristivojevic. The five UMKC seniors closed out their careers with three-straight tournament crowns and four consecutive regular season titles.

“Quality guys, that’s all I can say,” Hale said of his seniors. “They have more heart than I’ve ever had on any team and it’s just amazing to work with those guys.”

Kansas City will await word from the NCAA next week on where it will go for the national tournament.

Kansas City 4, IUPUI 0
Apr 27, 2013 at Fort Wayne, Ind. (Dr. Rudy and Rhonda Kachmann Tennis Cent)

Singles competition
1. Nino Hasandedic (UMKC) vs. Jason Jaruvang (IUPUI) 6-4, 2-4, unfinished
2. Abdul Alawadhi (UMKC) vs. Nick Volz (IUPUI) 6-1, 2-6, 0-1, unfinished
3. Grant Fleming (UMKC) def. Jake Hedderig (IUPUI) 6-1, 6-1
4. Andrey Smirnov (UMKC) def. Deon Shafer (IUPUI) 6-3, 6-1
5. Tim Akhmedov (UMKC) vs. Thomas Gans (IUPUI) 6-2, 4-6, 0-2, unfinished
6. Conner Edwards (UMKC) def. Armaan Choudhary (IUPUI) 6-1, 6-1


Doubles competition
1. Grant Fleming/Abdul Alawadhi (UMKC) def. Nick Volz/Jacob Bradley (IUPUI) 8-4
2. Conner Edwards/David Heckler (UMKC) def. Deon Shafer/Patrick O'Neill (IUPUI) 8-4
3. Tim Akhmedov/Nino Hasandedic (UMKC) vs. Jason Jaruvang/Jake Hedderig (IUPUI) 4-5, unfinished


Match Notes
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1); Singles (6,4,3)
Championship Match of the 2013 Summit League Championships
Winner earns an automatic berth into the 2013 NCAA Tournament
UMKC Volleyball Locks In 2018 Schedule
UMKC Women's Hoops Adds Patrick Harrison to Coaching Staff
Goodwin, Bloom Selected in ASBA Draft